CNN Africa Announces Finalists For The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2016



The finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2016 has been announced by  CNN Africa

The names were announced yesterday by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel. This year, the competition received 1637 entries – a record number – from 38 countries across the continent.

These are the 38 finalists from 14 countries:

Adedayo Eriye Oketola, Saturday Punch, Nigeria
Aderonke Bello,, Nigeria
Ancillar Mangena, Forbes Africa, South Africa
Asha Ahmed Mwilu & Rashid Idi, Kenya Television Network, Kenya
Ati Metwaly, Al Ahram Weekly, Egypt
Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique
Bidossèssi Appolinaire Agoïnon, Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin, Benin
Cheboite Kigen, Daily Nation Newspaper, Kenya
Chika Oduah, Nigeria, Freelancer at African Story Challenge, Media Initiative, Kenya
Cleófas Viagem, STV, Mozambique
Conan Daniel Businge & Gerald Tenywa, New Vision, Uganda
Coulibaly Zoumana, Le Patriote, Ivory Coast
Diana Neille, Richard Poplak, Shaun Swingler and Sumeya Gasa,Daily Maverick Chronicle, South Africa
Dominic Omondi, The Standard, Kenya
Eromo Egbejule, Freelancer at Ventures Africa, Nigeria
Faten Hayed, El Watan, Algeria
Fidelto Emidio Bata, STV, Mozambique
Folashade Adebayo, The Punch, Nigeria
Garreth van Niekerk, City Press, South Africa
Isaac Otidi Amuke, Commonwealth Writers, Kenya
James Oatway, The Sunday Times, South Africa
Jay Caboz, Forbes Africa, South Africa
Jean-Luc Emile, Teleplus, Mauritius
John Grobler, Namibia, and Fiona Macleod, Oxpeckers Investigative Environmental Journalism, South Africa
Lawrence Seretse, The Botswana Gazette, Botswana
Mia Malan, Mail & Guardian, South Africa
Teresa Fuquiadi, Jornal Nova Gazeta, Angola
Veronica Narkwor Kwabla, Tv3 Network, Ghana
Veronica Onuchi, TVC News Africa, Nigeria
Yemisi Akinbobola, Ogechi Ekeanyanwu & Paul Bradshaw,IQ4News for Premium Times, Nigeria

The independent judging panel would be chaired by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the Judging Panel & Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa, includes: Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian Newspapers, Nigeria;Jean-Paul Gérouard, Former Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions; Eleni Giokos, Africa Correspondent, CNN; Fernando Gonçalves, Editor, Savana, Mozambique; Anton Harber, Editor-in-Chief, eNCA, South Africa; Joel Kibazo, Media & Public Affairs Consultant; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media; Wanja Njuguna,Senior Lecturer, Namibia University of Science & Technology & CNN Journalist of the year 2000; David Ohito, Digital Editor, The Standard Media Group, Kenya and José Sebastião Paulo, Professor of Journalism, University Agostinho Neto, Angola.

Entries were published or broadcast for the following categories:

Culture Award; Ecobank Economics & Business Award
Mohamed Amin Photographic Award
African Development Bank Environment Award
Press Freedom Award
The Maggie Eales Young Journalist Award
MSD Health & Medical Award; Sport Reporting Award
News Impact Award; Francophone general news awards
Portuguese language general news awards
GE Energy & Infrastructure Award
Features Award
Dow Technology & Innovation Award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s